Tremors and Dizziness

Hello all,

I'm Susie and just joined this support group. I found out last summer that I have Sjogren's, but have probably have had it for a few years. I was misdiagnosed as going through perimenopause and was on hormone replacement therapy for about a year - I'm off now and it's been great. I felt worse being on HRT. I have my doctorate in education and am currently a vice principal and have two small children (age 7 and 4). It's hard for me to find time to rest through the day, but I also am concerned about my work trajectory. Will I be able to continue to do what I studied so hard for with SS? One of my main concerns has been the dizziness and tremors that I've had to face at very unpredictable times. I'm concerned that when I'm talking to parents or students (or driving my kids!) I'll have a dizzy spell. The spells seem to come on whenever I am extremely fatigued and about once a month, but are very quick in nature. When I've had rest, it's better. Anyone else experience these dizzy spells? They are very short, it's almost like a head rush with dizziness or a syncope, without fainting. I've had MRIs with my head, neck, and spine, and they were all normal. My rheumatologist said that dizziness is NOT a part of Sjogren's, and my ENT said I had labrynthitis, which is inflammation of the inner ear. But if inflammation is part of Sjogren's - couldn't the inner ear become inflamed as well? Would love to hear if anyone else is experiencing tremors (I seem to have them mainly in my legs) and/or dizziness. Thank you for your feedback!

My theory is that inflammation is inflammation. Doctors divvy up the diseases into what is inflamed or impacted, but it certainly seems possible that the labyrinthitis could be part of the picture for you. Di you have a recent infection that could have led to the ear problem? Did the ENT talk to you about therapy for the labyrinthitis?

Dear Susie,