More than a flare

Hi Everyone, although I am new to SS diagnosis, I knew that my symptoms were more than a flare. I have a feeling of pressure and fullness in my neck that is a little unnerving. Along with discomfort/tenderness in the floor of my mouth. A tender bump above my thyroid.

I am so blessed to have the ENT doctor I have (her sister has SS). It turns out I have what she believes is a thyroglossal duct cyst and enlarged submandibular glands that are infected. I have an appointment for an ultrasound and I started on antibiotics. She said that it is due to the dryness of SS and massaging the salivary glands along with applying warm compresses will help relieve the symptoms. It can also help to prevent these complications in the future because it stimulates the glands to secrete saliva. It is such a relief to find out what is wrong and to have a plan of treatment.

Also, my lower body was feeling left out…on my way into my appointment I fell onto the cement and the glass bottle of iced tea I was carrying that I dropped and broke right where I landed. In I went with ripped, wet jeans and little peices of glass in my hands.

Tonight, I feel like I was punched in the jaw/neck and kicked in the knees. On the positive side no stitches necessary this time. At least my husband and I have already had a good laugh over how I sometimes get hurt. Part of me wishes it was on camera…maybe not.

Trying to be less Parched and not fall again.

Really pleased that you have your answer, and what a great ENT! Hope that you start to feel better soon!

Jules, thank you!