Schleral Lenses

Has anyone had any luck with Scleral Lenses? I have been wearing Ziena Moisture Chamber glasses daily for almost 3 months now. They seem to be the best on the market in terms of style, but I feel like Velma from Scooby Doo. The lenses are pricey and my insurance plan doesn't cover them. Please share your experience if you use these lenses.

I remember looking in to these a few years ago. It certainly looks like an interesting solution. But it is an expensive one,isn’t it? It sounds like you have not been successful with other strategies? You’ve tried most of the standards - tear duct plugs, restasis, warm compresses, lubricating drops and gels, etc? What treatments have you tried so far and with what success?

I've been on Restasis for about 2 months and don't notice any more wetness in my eyes. I still have to use artificial tears hourly along with moisture chamber glasses which I hate, but I can't stare at a computer all day and be in an heated office without them. Yes, I use warm compresses and gel at night. I haven't tried tear duct plugs yet. Maybe that's the first step. I'm switching my insurance plan so I'm going to wait until next year and try a new opthalmologist. My optometrist will create scleral lenses for me, but it will be out-of-pocket, I think about $1000 (?). I'm willing to pay, IF they work. But, what waste if they don't.

You can do a search on the plugs on the site. A lot of people have had some success with them. Personally, I got almost no relief when I got just the lower ones done, but much better results when all of my tear ducts were plugged.

Hopefully you are using preservative free drops.

I’ll also tell you what my eye doctor says about restasis. The idea is that what while the results may not be obvious, if you stop using them your eyes will become much dryer.